Can Our Smartphones Re-live Live Entertainment?

Smartphones have come a long way to where we are now. I remember my first cellphone in 2004; A small Virgin Mobile with pre-paid minutes, trying to figure out text messaging and trying to find a signal in dead-zones. Not only did phones evolve, but also the birth of social media (Think MySpace, AOL Messenger, MSN Messenger, and more I can’t remember).

Looking back at all of these trends, it was all about being connected with each other. It’s still where we are today in the bubble of social media.

I was scrolling through my feed on Facebook one day and one of my friends posted a “rant.” He said that it’s hypocritical for people claiming that they hate it when cell phones accidently ring during performances, but it’s okay to video-record concerts on our phones. “Be in the moment.”

Artists have also commented and criticized audiences for recording performances, including Adele.

I have been guilty of this example. I’ve captured live performances on my smartphone; including Adele, Kelly Clarkson, FUN, Michael Buble, Justin Timberlake/Jay-Z, and more.

The reason why I wanted to record these performances is that I wanted to re-live those moments.

Society has become infected with capturing “moments” on their smart-devices. Whether it may be your kid doing something silly, a civilian witnessing a crime, dogs being weird, getting married – we have the feather in our cap because we captured the moment – and it feels good, right?

We want to be the person who captured a moment in time and to be praised about it. Social Media is all about liking things, and people want to be liked to the point where it has become an obsession. Back in the day, Sally Field had to act her way to be liked. Now, we have a chance to show the world what we witness in our eyes and our minds.

85be8ff1b12bab7ac68be3ac59b4b0a5_sally-field-meme-you-really-like-me-google-search-comment-meme-sally-field-you-like-me-meme_510-287.jpeg

I recently watched stress expert, Loretta LaRoche on YouTube describing what society has become. “We are more interested in the extrinsic than the intrinsic. We are acting like human-doings than human beings.” It’s all about our individual selves. We can paint a perfect picture for our friends on our social media accounts – but on the other side of that profile, a person might be the opposite of what they claim to be or how they are internally.

When we post something, we expect to get feedback. We fish for attention and seek approval from others. And that is dangerous to our mental health. We were told as kids to never seek the approval from other but ourselves. Now in these days, we post something that will grab the attention of our social circle and expect them to “like” it. Content has become desensitizing to the point where we are numb with the current events happening around us. We can’t cope with our emotions anymore because we expect to feel what others are feeling. We now yell at these things such as Google and Alexa – who has been bugging me because my mom screams into it and believe that she is yelling my name. It’s easy to see and forget the things that need more attention than they get, don’t you think?

Take a look at yourself and ask “how many hours do I spend on social media? Am I the person I post on my accounts? Am I happy as the person I post?” I also read Jason Thibeault’s post on why he quit Facebook. It’s the same old things – people posting about their kids, their relationships, their problems, the news today and so on to the point where your brain might explode. Ask yourself, “What does Facebook do for me? How is Facebook or my other social media accounts solving my problems?”

In my experience, I now put the phone down during performances. Last March, I attended The Lumineers concert in Connecticut. I captured a Snapchat of their first song and expected to receive reactions from others who may have not attended. After my capture, I decided to put away my phone and watch the rest of the performance with my eyes only. The result – I loved every minute. I was singing along with the band, witnessing the band’s body language as they pour their hearts into the music, and creating a bond with the atmosphere – enjoying THE MOMENT as it occurred.

We want to capture these events because we might forget ever detail. That’s one of the reasons why we have smart-technology – to help us remember things and to help solve our problems faster than the human mind can think.

Try to look up performances of your favorite band on YouTube and ask yourself – am I enjoying this moment? Could I enjoy this more if I was actually there? You might be surprised to what you experience.

It’s okay to put your phone away. Witness the moment with your eyes, ears, and mind.

spectator-1394393_1280

 

Leave a Reply

